What tier will your business fall into when lockdown ends?

Matt Hancock, secretary of state for health and social care

The government has published the full list of which tier each area of England will fall into when the national lockdown ends on 2 December (scroll down to the foot of this article for details).

Hospitality businesses have been anxiously awaiting confirmation of the news as it effectively determines the extent to which they can trade once they come out of lockdown.

Those in Tier 3, for instance, won’t be allowed to open except for delivery and takeaway.

Story continues below

Businesses in Tier 2 areas, meanwhile, will only be able to serve alcohol if it is served with “substantial” meals.

Health secretary Matt Hancock told Parliament this morning that the measures would be reviewed every fortnight, with the first full review to be completed by 16 December.

Confirming Boris Johnson’s comments earlier this week that more regions would fall into higher levels than before the lockdown, Mr Hancock said a “significant” number of areas were in Tier 3.

He said the decisions had been based on case detection rates in all age groups, case detection rates in the over 60s and the rate at which cases are rising or falling, the number of positive cases detected as a percentage of tests taken and pressure on the NHS.

The Liverpool city region had dropped from Tier 3 to Tier 2 following after mass testing efforts led to cases falling by more than two-thirds, Mr Hancock added.

The full list can be seen below:


South East

  • Isle of Wight

South West

  • Cornwall
  • Isles of Scilly


North West

  • Cumbria
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Warrington and Cheshire


  • York
  • North Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

  • Rutland
  • Northamptonshire

East of England

  • Suffolk
  • Hertfordshire
  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough
  • Norfolk
  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea
  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

  • East Sussex
  • West Sussex
  • Brighton and Hove
  • Surrey
  • Reading
  • Wokingham
  • Bracknell Forest
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire

South West

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Dorset
  • Bournemouth
  • Christchurch
  • Poole
  • Gloucestershire
  • Wiltshire and Swindon
  • Devon


North East

  • Tees Valley Combined Authority:
    • Hartlepool
    • Middlesbrough
    • Stockton-on-Tees
    • Redcar and Cleveland
    • Darlington
  • North East Combined Authority:
    • Sunderland
    • South Tyneside
    • Gateshead
    • Newcastle upon Tyne
    • North Tyneside
    • County Durham
    • Northumberland

North West

  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

  • The Humber
  • West Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Leicester and Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire

South East

  • Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)
  • Kent and Medway

South West

  • Bristol
  • South Gloucestershire
  • North Somerset

Boris Johnson says “sorry” for hardship as he turns the screw on hospitality

Tags : coronavirusMatt Hancock
Andrew Seymour

The author Andrew Seymour

Leave a Response