RH Hall names chefs bidding for British BBQ bragging rights

RH Hall British BBQ Battle

RH Hall is counting down the days to its next British BBQ Battle, with eight finalists now accepted to compete in the fifth annual event, which will this year be held at the prestigious Blenheim Palace.

The catering equipment supplier confirmed this week that the chefs competing to win the title of ‘British BBQ Battle champion 2016’ will be Logan Lloyd of Baxterstorey and Simon Rapkin of Food Events Ltd (leisure and contract caterers), Phillip Hunt of Marston’s Inns & Taverns and Dave Alebon of Stonegate (pubs, bars and restaurants), Ash Spencer of Westminster Kingsway College and Martin Wheeler of the University of Reading (universities) and Gerald Quadros of The Lensbury and Martin Baker of Ston Easton Park (hotels).

All finalists have submitted a description of a three-course meal that can all be prepared on a BBQ and cooked within the specified one-hour time frame at the final event.

Story continues below

The chef’s will cook their dishes on Crown Verity BBQs supplied by RH Hall, which is the UK’s exclusive distributor for the brand. All dishes cooked will include at least one Lion sauce from the choice of BBQ, hot sauces, salsas and chutneys, mustards, mayonnaise and dressings.

An expert panel of judges including Ben Bartlett, BBQ champion and president of the British BBQ Association; Bill Verity, president of Crown Verity; Gareth Finney, 2015 BBQ Battle champion; and Jim Eaves from the British Culinary Foundation will then score the chefs on the taste appearance of their final dishes in addition to judging them on their BBQ cooking techniques.

All eight finalists will receive a Sharp Commercial Microwave, Smeg Mixer, Simply Stainless Professional Chef’s table, exclusive British BBQ Battle chef’s whites and a full set of Lion sauces and BBQ utensils. The winner will also be awarded a top of the range Crown Verity BBQ and accessories pack and £100 One4All vouchers.

The prizes are worth over £15,000 and have been sponsored by RH Hall, Crown Verity, Sharp, Smeg, Simply Stainless and Lion Sauces.

A new addition to the 2016 awards is the People’s Vote which will give guests the chance to select their favourite chef of the day based on whatever criteria they choose.

Tags : British BBQ BattleCrown VerityR H HallSharpSmeg
Andrew Seymour

The author Andrew Seymour

Leave a Response